A Skippers Tale Part XVII

Stay the Course

It has been a long time between posts, so I thought I would put something out there to ensure you all that Dad is still with us.

Since my last post life in the Lawrence domain have settled into as much as a routine as is possible. Our days are very much based on how both Mum and Dad are going at any give time.

Dad has his good days and his… not bad days… but less good days. By this I mean that there are days when he is bright-eyed and bushy tailed and ready to take on the world (within limits) but then there are days when he is completely wiped out and will spend much of it in bed.

One good thing is that Dad is being able to take himself most days in and out of the Cancer Centre for his Radiation treatments. Some days I will go in with him (usually when there is a follow up consultation with Dr Gill) but for the most part, the taxis pick him up and drop him off quite nicely.

On the taxi front, I fear that one young driver is seriously in schtum and has been referred to the disciplinary board because of a complaint I lodged. The first day of Dad’s treatment was the last day of the India/Australia cricket semifinal. The young driver had his radio tuned in to listen to the match… nothing wrong with that. Where I had my issue was the fact that a) every time India hit anything, he was checking the score on his phone!!!!! b) that bloody device they use for their fare information! He spent probably 60% of the journey fiddling with it, and as a result nearly had us up the Khyber of the car in front! Add to this change lanes without indication (three times in the MIDDLE of an intersection) and a very unusual relationship between his foot and his accelerator and I was at the point of telling the stupid twonk to pull over and either get us another taxi or let me drive! But despite all this we made it home alive… nauseated but alive… and I put in a complaint. When I received notification from the Taxi company that he had been referred to the board I thought that was a bit stiff just on the say so of a passenger… then I remembered… those taxis have cameras in them now… one look at the footage of me in the back seat would be enough to show disgust, horror, fear, queasiness in a matter of seconds… oh well. Since then the trips have been much much better.

Buster and the guys from the Navy continue to be a blessing to us. After being super efficient and getting everything signed down at the meeting in Rockingham (see last blog), we found we had signed things in the wrong place… typical. So Buster swung past to get them corrected. During the course of the discussion we were lamenting the fact that to get the area where we are putting the ‘studio’ down the back for me cleared was going to cost about $1000. Buster took one look at it and Bob’s Your Uncle; a clean up crew appeared at our disposal. They made short work of the backyard, in fact they were so efficient they even attacked parts of the garden we hadn’t even dreamed of attempting to tidy!

Many photos were taken and those of you who get Up Periscope will see the bit I was asked to write in the next edition. I will see if I can get a link put on here when I can.

This weekend I am heading into the city for an event that’s been on the cards predating Dad’s illness. Mum had originally considered if respite care might be an option for that weekend for all of us, but given how things are travelling she’d decided that with a bit of forethought on our part that Mum and Dad should be able to hunker down and take it easy this weekend together.   And it’s not as if I am going to be any great distance away if I was needed.

The weather has turned a corner here in Perth apparently and so now the next thing we need to make sure is that Dad keeps warm and doesn’t get any chills. Normally around this time of the year we get dosed up with the Flu shot, but we need to check with the guys at Sir Charlies if Dad can even have the shot this year, or if it is better just to leave it until his has finished any treatments.

Apart from that, all is well here. We are getting into a fairly secure routine. I’m going in to see work tomorrow and see what my options are for continued leave, because although Dad is, like I said, good on some days, even then it is too much for Mum just by herself so I really need to look at my options as I am fast running out of available leave!

Much love to all until next time.

Yoli

One thought on “A Skippers Tale Part XVII

  1. Thanks for the update Yoli. I had lost the link to this blog so decided to scroll thru your fb page. Sending our love and warm regards for good health for you all as the colder weather arrives.

Leave a Reply

